top of page

Tom Collins Poetry Prize winners named

Entries in diverse themes, written in forms such as free verse, sonnets, prose, villanelle


After much deliberation, Van Son chose the following poems as the winners of the 2023 Tom Collins Poetry Prize. Congratulations to all.

FirstMother and Child, by Michael Robinson (WA).

Second: Two Visitation Dreams, by Alan Fyfe (WA)

ThirdWedge-tailed Eagle, by David Atkinson (NSW)

Highly CommendedFigure without a landscape, by Isi Unikowski (ACT)

Highly Commended: Window Birds, by Mark O’Flynn (NSW)

CommendedLooking for the River, by Kay Cairns (WA)

Commended: Widow’s Walk, by David Terelinck (QLD); and

Commended: Internalising Everest, by Ross Jackson (WA).

The Tom Collins Poetry Prize began in 1975 and is named after Tom Collins, the pen name of Australian writer Joseph Furphy (1843 – 1912).

First prize was $1,000, second $300, and third $100. 

Read the judge's full report here

bottom of page