top of page
  • erbladen

December Newsletter 2022

Dear Members,

I trust this newsletter finds you making strides with your writing and looking forward to another busy year of opportunities at FAWWA in 2023.

Thankyou and best wishes to Helena Studdert

Firstly, in case you didn’t receive our recent email, we are saddened to announce that our former president, Helena Studdert, has had to resign and move with her husband to Adelaide due to a family emergency.

Helena’s expertise, presence, and contribution to our writing community will be sorely missed, and I know you’ll join me in wishing Helena and her family our heartfelt wishes for the future.

I have stepped in as acting president, and Emma Bladen as acting vice president. Karen Herbert will continue as treasurer, Susan Cullen as secretary, and Lynne de Peras as committee member.

Peter Bibby recently signed a 12-month agreement to stay on as caretaker of Tom Collins and Mattie Furphy Houses, which gives him and FAWWA certainty going forwards. This means Peter has stepped down from the committee, leaving us with two vacancies to fill.

Therefore, we're calling for nominations.

Joining our committee is an excellent way of becoming more involved in the writing community and building relationships with other writers.

The role is not onerous, involving a meeting once every two months and helping with the running of the fellowship in whatever capacity you can offer, whether it be administration and book-keeping or helping out at events.

To find out more please email us at

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2022

The highly anticipated Tom Collins Poetry Prize is now open. Poets are invited to submit up to five unpublished pieces by 30 January, 2023 for the chance to be recognised among Australia’s most talented poets.

The theme is open for poems up to 60 lines each. Judge for the 2022 Tom Collins Poetry Prize is Rose Van Son.

The Tom Collins Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s premier poetry prizes. It began in 1975 and is named after Tom Collins, the pen name of Australian writer Joseph Furphy (1843 – 1912). First prize is $1,000, second is $300, and third is $100.

Entry cost per poem is $12 non-members and $10 for members.

For more information please click here.

Congratulations to Patsy Millett

I am delighted to announce that long time member and accomplished author Patsy Millett (right) has been granted an honorary life membership of FAWWA.

FAWWA life members are chosen for their outstanding service to the Fellowship and/or Australian writing.

Patsy recently published Inseparable Elements — her biography of her mother Dame Mary Durack whose novels including Kings in Grass Castles, The Rock and the Sand, and Sons in the Saddle, have become Australian literary classics.

Patsy’s prolific achievements over many years include book reviews for the ABC and Sunday Times and a popular column in the Sunday Independent. She has kept her family history alive by collating the extensive Durack and Miller family archives for the State Library of WA and the National Library of Canberra, and documented aspects of Western Australian and Australian historical and literary life.

Patsy has been a tireless supporter of FAWWA. She served on the committee for nine years, and her public and private advocacy for the Fellowship and promotion of good governance has been much appreciated.

Please join me in congratulating and thanking Patsy for her service.

Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards

Submissions for the 2023 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards open December 8, and this year there’s a new category — The Premier’s Prize for Book of the Year, sponsored by Writing WA. The award carries a cash prize of $15,000 and is open to fiction, non-fiction, poetry, history, or young adult books written by resident WA authors. The Premier’s Book Awards offer a generous total prize pool. For details please click here.

FAWWA Christmas Party Sunday, December 11 at 4pm

Members and friends are invited to Mattie Furphy House for a festive celebration from 4pm on Sunday, December 11.

Bring drinks and a plate to share, and prepare a short piece for the open mic.

There will be prizes! Published authors are invited to donate a copy of one of their books for giveaways on the night, or please bring a wrapped book in good condition for the lucky dip.

Brazil comes to Mattie Furphy House December 4

Fancy a little trip to Brazil? Lovers of Brazilian literature and music are invited to celebrate the works of Joao Guimaraes Rosa (right) with literary translator Alison Entrekin at 1pm on December 4. Join Alison for a talk on this most innovative of writers, followed by a class in the art of translation and creative writing, and a late afternoon snack with live Brazilian music by Juliana Areias. The event is free, thanks to the Brazilian Embassy in Canberra.

Reserve your spot by clicking here.

Congratulations to Megan Anderson Please join me in celebrating the work of FAWWA Emerging Writer Megan Anderson whose story, Exit Stage Left, has been shortlisted in the Norwich Writers’ Circle’s Olga Sinclair Prize in the UK. We’ll have everything crossed for Megan when the winners are announced at a gala awards night December 6.

Centre for Stories would love to hear from you

Do you have a story to share about yourself or your community here in WA? The Centre for Stories in Northbridge invites you to fill out an anonymous survey, part of the WA Stories project funded by the Department of Local Government Sports and Culture. The project aims to uncover hidden stories that need to be collected from people that live in WA. To find out more please click here.

Prose and poetry competitions near and far

  • Submissions close December 30 for Louie Award for crime stories up to 500 words, offered by the Australian Crime Writers Association. Please click here for details.

  • Enter a story on the theme of rain into the Northern Beaches Writers Competition in New South Wales by March 31, 2023. For details please click here.

  • Submit stories with an island theme into the Tasmanian Writers' Prize 2023 by February 14. For details please click here.

  • Nominations close December 16 for the $30,000 Margaret and Colin Roderick Literary Award 2023. The award recognises the best Australian book of the year about any aspect of Australian life. For details please click here.

  • Submit poetry written in any language by January 31, 2023 for the second annual Dolors Alberola International Poetry prize named after the Spanish poet. Entry is free. For details please click here.

Happy writing. See you at the FAWWA Christmas party December 11, and here’s to a safe and enjoyable festive season for you and your loved ones.

Louise Allan

Acting FAAWA President

161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page