Writing Competitions


The Tom Collins Poetry Prize was inaugurated by the Fellowship of Australian Writers WA in 1975 to commemorate the contribution to Australian literature of Joseph Furphy (1843 - 1912), who wrote Such is Life under the pen name ‘Tom Collins’. Download the full Terms & Conditions and Entry Form below.


Terms and Conditions of Entry


Theme: Open                                                                                                       
Prizes: First $1000, Second $300, Third $100

Opening Date: October 1st 2021                                                                      

Closing Date: December 15th 2021

Winners Announced: February 2022                                                               


Maximum 60 lines per poem. Maximum of 5 poems

Entry Fee: $10 per poem (Members) $12 per poem (non-members)             

Pay Online at www.fawwa.org/paying-online (Paypal or EFT), or send a cheque to the address below.

2021 Stuart Hadow Short Story Competition

1st place                                     Julie Woodland (WA), ‘The Astrophysics of Love’

2nd place                                    Michael Burrows (WA), ‘Green Thumbs’

3rd place                                     Paulette Gittins (VIC), ‘Only Joking’


Highly Commended                 Jean Flynn (QLD), ‘Someone like you’

                                                    Karen Hollands (QLD), ‘Unravelling’

                                                    Kerry Greer (WA), ‘Espalier’

Read the Judge's Report 2021, by Susan Midalia.

First Prize won $1,000 and a two-week residency at Mattie Furphy House, Swanbourne. Second Prize won $300; Third Prize won $100.

Past Competitions

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2020

1st Place                               Maddie Godfrey            Unmade

2nd Place                             Caroline Reid                DEVOUR

3rd Place                              Andrew Sutherland      'public health the silence of god'

Highly Commended           Kevin Gillam                 'bleakness'

Highly Commended           Peter Ramm                  Barren grounds in late Autumn

Highly Commended           Allan Padgett               'these pastures held my heart'

Highly Commended           Elizabeth Lewis             A Handful of Salt

Commended                       Shastra Deo                  The break

Commended                       Sharmin Paynter           All your red flags, black

Commended                       Shey Marque                Ruining the Light

Commended                       Anne Casey                  Prayer-fish

Thank you to Cailin Maling, who's insightful Judges Report can be read here.


          Photo: Caitlin Maling, Maddie Godfrey and Karen Whittle-Herbert

CMaling, MGodrey and KWH.jpg
Stuart Hadow Short Story Prize 2020


Patrick Boxall, 'Blitzkrieg' (VIC)


Ben Blitzer, 'Little Hero' (Merredin, WA)

Erwin Cabucos, 'Theresa' (QLD)

Kylie Shearer, 'Second Chance Elodie' (VIC)

Rita Tognini, 'When I Met Alice Munro' (WA)

Sean Wilson, 'Bully' (VIC)

Thank you Nigel Featherstone for your insightful Judges Report 2020.

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2019

1st Prize:    Michael Greenacre – Missing Pieces

2nd Prize:  David Atkinson – The Straining Rowlocks

3rd Prize:   Peter Burges – Of Shearing

HC. Andrew Lansdown – Cherry Blossom Contemplations

HC. Nathan Curnow – The Lifeguard

HC. Josephine Clarke – Boronia megastigma

HC. Damen O’Brien – Day of the Spiders

C. Rita Tognini – Step-By-Step

C. Laurie Smith – All Shook Up

C. Jan Napier – On the Hill

C. Daniel Foster – The Death of Who I’m Not

Read Shane McCauley's Judges Report

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2019

Stuart Hadow Short Story Competition 2019

Stuart Hadow Judge's report


First  -      Nadia Lisa King for Mariko’s Mouse

Second - Carmel Lillis for How I’ll Know Her

Third -     John Scholz for Boat People

Highly Commended - Michael Hunt for Between two Eternities

Highly Commended - Jim Brigginshaw for The White Horse

Highly Commended  - David Vernon for

                                       The Wrong Side of the Tracks


Commended - Susan Thompson for Letter from the Last Duchess

Commended - Lesley Neale for Amber the Dog

Commended - Ted Witham for The Odd Number

Huge congratulations to you all!

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2018


Read the Judge's Report

Winner            Busted Piano Man – Christopher Konrad        

Second Prize Coming of Age – Kristen Lang

Third Prize      Barney Embraces Technology  - Peter Burke

Highly Commended

The Life of Caves Glen Phillips

Homage Marguerite – Julie Watts

strands of us – Kevin Gillam

Elk Rapids, Lake Michigan – Kim Waters


Love-Locked – Gillian Telford

Dreamlands Hopscotch – Yvonne Patterson

In Somnolence – Scott-Patrick Mitchell

Lazarette on Peel Island – Damen O’Brien

Talking to my Father – Tony London

Stuart Hadow Short Story Prize 2018



1st: Chair - Peter Court

2nd: One Time My Sister - Melanie Napthine

3rd: Kind - Melanie Napthine

Highly commended:

Salt of the Earth - Ryan Delaney

Behavioural Experiment - Tanya Vavilova


Forget it, Jake - Paulette Gittens

Tropical Cyclone - Tanya Vavilova

Congratulations to all the winners and those who took part. For more information, please read the Judge's Report by Laurie Steed.

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2017

Congratulations to the following:


1st: Rock the Baby - Andy Kissane

2nd: Orbit - Vanessa Proctor

3rd: On Route to the Iroquois Museum - Laura Shore

Highly commended:

Tom's Story - Robert Lumsden

Mathinna - Vanessa Page

Tell Me You Are Here - Alex Ripper


Carpet - Colin Montfort

The Lie - Laura Shore

Open House, Palm Springs Modernism Week - Helen Thurloe

The 2017 prize was judged by Judith Rodriguez, to read the full Judge's report click here.

Stuart Hadow Short Story Prize 2017

Congratulations to the following:


1st: Doors Closing - Dorothea Pffaf

2nd: Dead Ringer - Julie Woodland

3rd: Godsend - Jodie Kewley

Highly commended:

The Good Earth - Roseanne Dingli

The A30 Woodsmen - Kit Peek


The Care Taker - Jemma Tyley-Miller

Pig - Philip Silvester

The 2017 prize was judged by Elizabeth Tan, to read the full Judge's report click here.

Rees Prize for Young Writers

The Rees Prize for Young Writers has been created as a biannual competition by FAWWA to support young Australian writers, and honour WA writers Coralie and Leslie Rees. 2016 was the first year for this contest, open to writers up to 21 years of age at the time of the closing date.

In 2016, the theme was 'Mars and Beyond'.

The following list were the winners of the 2016 competition:


1st: The Seven Travellers of 1184 - Jennifer Worgan (NSW)

2nd: The Price of Immortality - Alexandria Walker (QLD)

Highly commended

18-21 age category

Salvation - Stephanie Liddlelow (WA)

We Were Once Immortals - Anne Feng (WA)

15-17 age category

Saving Tomorrow - Katha Villanueva (VIC)

Silence - Radheya Jegatheva (WA)

Under 15 age category

Escape from the Earthlings - Lydia Colla (NSW)

Those Stars of Mine - Sarah Petersen

The 2016 Prize was judged by Emily Paull, click here for the judge's report.