Fellowship of Australian Writers WA

Supporting Western Australia's writing community

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

July 1 new submissions date for Stuart and Hadow Short Story Competition 

We have good news!

The submissions deadline for Stuart and Hadow Short Story Prize 2022 has been moved to July 1, so now you have a little more time to enter your work for the chance to be recognised among some of Australias most talented literary writers.

The first prize winner is awarded $1,000.

The theme is open. Pieces must be no longer than 3,000 words.

For more details please go to our Writing Competitions section.

To read a selection of entries by past winners see Storyfire: The Magic of the Short, a collection from the prestigious annual, national competition.





Tom Collins House


A Writers Organisation that supports writing

and writers in Western Australia

We were first founded in 1938 with the aim of supporting Western Australian writers and promoting their work.

Every month, we host writing groups, book launches, author talks, poetry readings and  more! Situated at the Tom Collins House and Mattie Furphy House in Swanbourne, FAWWA is a well-respected, not for profit writers center for the Perth metropolitan and regional areas..

We welcome writers of all ages and genre and would love you to be part of our supportive community. We are here for aspiring, emerging and established writers!



The Magic of the Short

Celebrating winning authors from the last sixteen years of the Stuart Hadow Short Story Competition featuring a cornucopia of subjects and styles.

Read the Westerly review

written by Susan Midalia here

$25 plus postage


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Click on Bert Vickers Library to go to our collection and search our titles

CA_Cultural Fund Logo_RGB_full colour.jp

The Fellowship is proud to be a member of the Copyright Agency and has often benefited from its generous Cultural Fund. The Copyright Agency is an Australian not-for-profit organisation that has been standing up for creators for more than 40 years. They enable the reuse of copyright-protected words and images in return for fair payment to creators. FAWWA recommends that you ensure copyright over your own work as well as looking at what grants are available for writers. To check out the site click here.

Lotterywest Logo_Version1.png

FAWWA would like to acknowledge Lotterywest for the generous grant that supported the purchase of equipment and furniture for Mattie Furphy House.


The Four Centres Emerging Writers Program is made possible by a grant from DLGSC.

4 centres logo.jpg

Contact us

If you have any queries or would like to know more about us, please fill out the details below and we will get back to you as soon as we can!

Thanks! Message sent.

Proudly supported by:
CAL logo.jpg
Writers United3-04[21].jpg